The 8-Hour Sleep Myth

March 13, 2012

This is some interesting stuff: The 8-Hour Sleep Myth: How I Learned That Everything I Knew About Sleep Was Wrong. I’ve been thinking that awakening in the middle of the night was a symptom of middle age, as I don’t remember it happening to me until a few years ago. However, once I recognized that it was becoming somewhat common for me back around 2005, I embraced the Rumi quote that says “The morning breeze has secrets to tell. Do not go back to sleep,” and I began using my middle-of-the-night wakefulness to write in my journal, sometimes with startling revelations as a result. It seems the cloudiness of mind at 4 AM can actually be an asset when journaling or pursuing creative endeavors.

Nowadays I attribute my waking up in the middle of the night to roomie, my newly adopted pinche gato named Misifus, who seems to be more nocturnal than dayturnal, and unfortunately is not content to simply scribble quietly in his journal at night as I am. Last night he strolled the house at 3 AM meowing and scratching at the window screens, as if he wanted to get out (which he probably did want, now that I think about it).

Anyway, check out this article. Really, it has nothing to do with cats. Or Rumi.

Leave a Reply

