Austin: Live Music Capital of the World

November 27, 2006

I’m finishing up a new painting that depicts a band busking on the corner of 6th and Congress in Austin. Here’s an image of the work in progress:

This morning while still lying in bed, I had a moment of clarity in which I realized that the title of the piece needs to be Live Music Capital of the World, rather than the working title of 6th and Congress. At that point, I decided it would be fun to clip words from magazines and newspapers to spell out the title of the painting on the painting. When I got to the studio and fired up my computer, I found this posting on Austinist. Coincidence? I think not.

Leave a Reply

